A Very Potter Musical

I am a complete Potter nerd and I have been since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone came out when I was 8.  (By the way, is there a name for us Potter nerds?  You know, like Twilight fans are Twihards and Glee fans are Gleeks?)  I found this 2 years ago on Mugglenet and I’ve been hooked ever since.  I’ve talked to fellow nerds and I find that some people have never heard of this, which is a crime.  I want to make sure everyone knows about this.

A Very Potter Musical is a play performed at the University of Michigan in the summer of 2009 and posted to Youtube.  Sound quality and video aren’t as amazing as a film would be, but it’s still the best parody of Harry Potter I’ve ever seen.

AVPM stars Darren Criss (well-known for his performance as Blaine on Glee) as Harry Potter.  He’s joined by Bonnie Gruesen as Hermione Granger and Joey Richter as the lovable Ron Weasley.

In my opinion, the star of the show isn’t Harry Potter, but Draco Malfoy, played by Lauren Lopez.  Yes, you read that right.  Draco is played by a girl.  And she does an amazing job.  I seriously can’t watch Malfoy in the movies the same way again.  I could go on and on about how “totally awesome” Draco is, but I will refrain.  I will add, though, that Draco has some of the best lines in the entire show.  For example, “I can’t go to Pigfarts.  It’s.  On.  Mars.”

I can’t help but feel as if all those characters we despised in the movies are the ones we fall terribly in love with in the musical version.  Voldemort (right, currently attached to Quirrell’s soul) is so amazing.  He is by far the most foul-mouthed of the bunch, but it’s so funny I can’t help but laugh so hard at his performance.  And Joe Moses does the funniest Severus Snape I have ever seen.  It is incredible.  I feel he’s truer to the Snape I love than Alan Rickman’s.  I can’t praise this cast enough.  Snape is astoundingly creepy and evil.  He’s also utterly goofy, with those big bug eyes you can clearly see next to this.  I love the way he talks, which is different and yet the same as Alan Rickman.  So awesome.  And everyone is just Super-Mega-Foxy-Awesome-Hot!

Added Bonus!  Part 1!  I’m serious when I say this is amazing!

Leave a Reply

