Life As We Know It

A comedy about taking it one step at a time.

When I saw the trailer in theatres, I thought it looked funny.  But I’m prone to that.  Movie trailers for me are like window shopping.  Just because something looks good in the window doesn’t mean I’m going to buy it.  The more I looked at it, the more I thought it looked a little stupid, actually.

What I got was an amazingly funny movie that was so much more than a comedy.  It was a story of growing up and taking responsibility.  It was a story of life and love.  And I loved it.

Holly and Messer haven’t gotten along since their terrible blind date in ’07.  Their lives get turned upside down when their best friends are killed in a car crash, leaving them with their 1 year old daughter.  Driven by love for their friends and Sophie, Holly and Messer join forces to take care of the toddler.

As you would expect, things go awry.  That made it funny, don’t get me wrong, but there were other things that made this movie so touching.  Holly and Messer have to give up so much to make things work and still they struggle.  A couple of things seemed a bit out of place just to make the story funnier, but other than that I sincerely enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

