Stealing Home

Stealing hearts, stealing laughs, stealing memories.

I’ve got loads of new reviews for you guys today!  Ok, so this one is called Stealing Home (1988).  It’s been sitting on my Instant Netflix for a while and I only watched it because it was going to disappear on Monday.

I wasn’t as impressed as I wanted to be.  I really like Mark Harmon, but apparently he’s gotten to be a much better actor in the past 20 years.

The basic story is that Billy Wyatt (Harmon) had given up on his dream of becoming a baseball player.  He gets a call saying his childhood best friend, Katie (Jodie Foster) had committed suicide and he was responsible for her ashes.  While trying to discover what she would want, he rediscovers himself.

Maybe it was just that it wasn’t the kind of movie I wanted to watch the other night, but I really didn’t like it.  It also didn’t help that the tornado alarm went off while I was watching it and had to stop watching for 20 minutes.  And really, there was very little of either Mark Harmon or Jodie Foster in the movie.  The whole thing was told in flashbacks.

I will say one thing positive: Billy’s best friend Appleby made the movie.  Appleby was a hoot and was so funny the whole time.  He was so awkward and bizarre that I loved watching him.

Leave a Reply

