Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)

First Lines: In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees.  He’s around my age, in that space between child and man, maybe all of seventeen years old.  I’m not sure how I know this.

I bought this in January literally right after it came out.  I was chomping at the bit to read it and it’s been on my bookshelf ever since.  I’m between library runs right now, so I decided I really needed to read those books I got for Christmas.

Angels.  They’re totally awesome right now.  Very popular.  And I loved the way this one was told.  The angels aren’t full blooded or fallen (like many of them are), but half-bloods and quarter-bloods.  While not exactly new, it definitely fun.

Clara is a part-angel with a mission–one she unfortunately can’t understand.  She receives visions about a boy she doesn’t know in a place she’s never been to before.  When she begins putting small pieces together, her family moves to Wyoming so she can fulfill her destiny.  Once there, she meets Christian, who is literally the man of her dreams.  How exactly is she supposed to save him?  And what about Tucker Avery, the boy who appeals to her darker side?  Can she complete her mission or will Tucker get in the way?

I like how this covertly connects to teens (besides the obvious).  I mean, Clara feels like her destiny’s already all planned out.  She has to stay on this set path or everything could go to Hades (more literal in her case than in ours).  She fights with what she’s supposed to do and what she wants to do.  Who doesn’t?  I loved how well she was written.

And the dudes!  Christian and Tucker.  I ended up falling in love with both of them by the end (one more than the other, no spoilers!), which I love to do.  It was just an overall, well written story.

The only thing that I want to comment on is that I want more character development from some of the smaller characters that I feel are going to be extremely important in the coming books.  Like Clara’s brother Jeffrey.  I feel like I barely know him.  So I’m hoping he has a bigger part in the coming books.

Leave a Reply

