Tangled

They’re taking adventure to new lengths.

I am a self-proclaimed Disney nerd.  Beauty and the Beast?  I have the entire movie memorized.  (That’s not a joke.  It’s very true.)  I’ve watched every princess movie and fell in love with their stories as a kid.  But for some reason, Tangled just doesn’t do it for me.  And I can’t put my finger on why.  I adore Mandy Moore and I think the story is very cute, but I just don’t like it as much as I do Disney movies from the past.

Tangled, if you don’t know, is the story of Rapunzel.  All her life, she’s been kept in a remote tower, away from everyone but her “mother”.  When Flynn Rider, a common criminal, stumbles upon her tower, she knows this could be her way out.

I think it’s adorable.  Flynn is hilarious in his attempts to sway Rapunzel from this path.  A couple times I burst out laughing at what he said (which doesn’t always happen when I’m watching a movie by myself).  I love that Rapunzel’s hair has special qualities.

I think part of my problem is the animation.  It’s just not the hand-drawn awesomeness of older Disney movies.  I liked The Princess and the Frog better than this, probably because of the drawing style.

I think the second issue I have with it is the music.  There’s just no song, besides “I See The Light”, that really stands out to me.  Disney movies almost always have a killer soundtrack and this one just hasn’t cut it for me yet.  Man, I miss those old Disney songs…

Anyway, I think it’s a good movie.  And probably one of the last princess ones for a while, if the rumors are true.  Very funny.  And guys love it!  I have cousins in high school and college that watch it with their little sisters and love it.

One thought on “Tangled

  1. I so agree with your review. I think there is something to also be said about the lack of male singers, which I noticed as soon as I walked out of the cinemas. I loved this movie, don’t get me wrong, but not as much as I expected. It was gorgeous, funny and cute… but not to the hype.

Leave a Reply

