The Kids Are All Right

Nic and Jules had the perfect family, until they met the man who made it all possible.

*RATED R* *RATED R* * RATED R*

This is pretty different than most movies I like (maybe not on the surface, but I could argue it). It got stellar reviews, which piqued my interest.  Really, the only reason I wanted to watch it was for Mark Ruffalo.  I have a minor crush on him.  He usual plays these sweet, caring, under-appreciated characters and I just fell in love with that.

Nic and Jules are a gay couple that have raised a family together, each of them giving birth to a kid thanks to a sperm donor.  When Joni turns 18, her brother Laser convinces her to find out who their dad is.  Then they meet Paul, who is hardly what they expected.

I watched this with my mom…and that was a little awkward at times.  But I think I liked it more than she did.

It wasn’t bad.  It’s just different than what I usually watch, so I didn’t like it as much as someone else might.  But I liked the way the story was told.  It was pretty interesting, their family dynamic.  Each character had something different about them that made them stand out.  They were distinct.

I guess I also wanted to watch this for Josh Hutcherson, who will be playing Peeta Mellark in the Hunger Games movie coming out next year (*SQUEE!*).  He was in a lot of movies as a kid, but I wanted to see a more recent one for a better comparison.  And I think he’ll be a great Peeta.

Man.  Are they adorable or what?  To very dashing men…

Ahem.  Wow, I really have to st0p doing that.

Leave a Reply

