Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

It All Ends.

I went with my friend to see this last night at midnight.  Totally worth it.  As she described it, “You’ll cry, laugh, scream, and cheer.”  It’s true.  I did every last one of those things.

Do I need a summary for this?  It’s the big finale.  The end of it all.  Voldemort versus Harry Potter for the last time.  Who will come out victorious?  (If you’ve read the book or heard the spoilers, you already know.)

I really hyped myself up for this before I went to see it, though I realized later that one of the things I should have done was rewatch Part 1.  They start immediately where they left off.  If you don’t remember what happened, you’re gonna be lost.  There’s no warm-up intro to sink you back into their world.  You’re there.

I was surprised to realize this was also probably one of the funniest movies of them all, too.  I think it’s because everyone realized they had nothing to lose anymore and the only way to deal with the fear they felt.  But there were just tons of lines that, if I said them to you on the street, aren’t funny, but when we know how they fit into the story are hilarious.  Or that could be because I was watching it at 1 AM and I tend to get weird when I’m tired…

The final fight?  Epic, as I knew it would be.  There was just so much going on.  A couple of scenes truly had me freaked.  And there were more than a few scenes that had me crying.  There was even one scene where I pretty much bawling.

From here on out, I’m going to refer to scenes from the book that contain spoilers.  If you have not read the book, I’d advise not reading the rest of this and just skipping to the rating.

I knew when I read the book that my sympathy was supposed to shift from Dumbledore to Snape, but it never did.  I trusted Dumbledore too much and Snape had been an ass to Harry too long for me to like him.  The scenes in the movie, though, did me in.  I still love Dumbledore, but Snape at least has my grudging respect now.  It was beautifully done.  Maybe not exactly to canon (though maybe I’m just forgetting exactly how the scene goes?), but still very beautiful.

I also wish the scene when Harry’s death is announced to Hogwarts was done more like the book.  I can’t tell you how many times I reread that particular scene.  The movie did it differently and, while I don’t mind them taking some liberties, I wanted that one to be true to the story.  And Neville’s badassery?  Not as awesome as I was hoping.  Don’t get me wrong, the dude is still badass, but it could have been more true to the book.

Don’t let this keep you from watching the movie, though.  It’s emotionally charged, explosive, and full of characters everyone loves and loves to hate.  Officially my 2nd favorite HP movie (nothing beats Prisoner of Azkaban, sorry.  Sirius Black forever!)

Leave a Reply

