Soul Surfer

When you come back from a loss, beat the odds, and never say never, you find a champion.

What actually drew me to this movie more than anything was Carrie Underwood.  She was the winner of the first season of American Idol that I watched.  And, being a country fan, I was excited to see how she transitioned into acting.  That isn’t to say I wasn’t interested in the movie.  I was.  But Carrie is the reason I even really knew about it.

Bethany (AnnaSophia Robb) is well on her way to being a surfing champion back home in Hawaii.  She working her way to regionals, training as often as she can.  Then tragedy strikes.  While resting on her surfboard, a shark attacked Bethany and took her arm.  Now Bethany has to relearn a number of things she’d never thought about before, like tying up her hair…and surfing.  After what happened, does she even want to surf again?

It really is an inspiring story.  But I felt that the drama of it kind of deflated what was supposed to be inspiring.  Dennis Quaid played Bethany’s father and he was just…so dramatic at times.

I say that, but the ironic thing is that I didn’t think the actual shark attack was dramatic enough.  Of course, I spent the beginning of the movie expecting the shark attack around any corner.  They built it up like it was Jaws.  So, accordingly, I expected RAWR.  Instead, I got rawr.  Literally, my mom looked down for two seconds and missed the whole thing.

I just didn’t feel there was anything super stellar about it.  The acting was good, the surfing was cool, and the message was great.  Maybe it just wasn’t my thing?

Leave a Reply

