The Lost Crown

First Lines: Our luggage is packed and we’ve said our good-byes.  The palace is as dark and still as a museum at midnight, but it’s been hours and the train still isn’t here.  No one will tell us when it will come, or where they’re taking us.

Took me long enough, didn’t it?  Life was crazy, what with moving into my dorm and all.  But I got it done.

This is the story of a family named Romanov, who happened to be the ruling family of Russia when the revolution occurred.  Told from the points of view of the four daughters, Olga, Tatiana, Maria, and Anastasia, we get to see the last four years of their lives and how it changed.

I liked it, but I didn’t think it was amazing.  I love the story of Anastasia and her family.  This had an insane amount of historically accurate information, even more than I knew.  I loved being able to see how their lives changed from being the royal family to being prisoners.  It was a slow change, but one that also changed them.

And I picked up a lot of Russian!  There’s a massive index of characters and Russian words right at the beginning.  Trust me, you’re going to need it.  The Russian is completely daunting at first.

What I didn’t like so much was how slow it went.  Granted, I had to put it down a million times to do a million different things, but it covers 4 years worth of time.  You can’t just breeze through it.

It was a truly complicated read.  Probably one of the most challenging I’ve read in a while.  It was like burning a disc for me.  I’m used to reading at one speed, but I had to slow it down dramatically while I read this, at least until I got the hang of it.

The story is truly amazing.  People that seem so blah in textbooks and research come to life here.  I highly recommend it for its historical awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

