Blood Magic (Blood Journals, #1)

First Lines: I am Josephine Darly, and I intend to live forever.

I almost thought I’d never get time to finish this book!  Between classes, homework, and friends, I haven’t had a lot of time to just sit and chill.  This took me pretty much a week to finish.

Silla Kennicot’s life has been turned upside down.  First, she found her parents dead in their house from bullet wounds inflicted by her father.  Second, she receives a journal in the mail from a man she doesn’t know who claims he knew her father.  It’s a spell book.  Even though she doesn’t want to believe in magic, something about doing the spells just feels…right.

Then there’s Nick Pardee, who just moved to town and doesn’t know Silla’s past.  He is drawn to her, even though everyone warns him away.  But Nick’s hiding secrets of his own.  When Nick and Silla begin sensing a dark presence lurking around them, they have to work together to stay alive.

I liked it.  It’s a bit different about its magic than other books are, but that was fine.  And it switches perspectives between Nick, Silla, and a journal.  That was nice because it wouldn’t have been the same just from one perspective.

There’s almost always a sense of danger, which was fun.  I liked the relationship Nick and Silla had.  It was very cute.

I’m sorry if this turns out to be one of my worst reviews.  Reading it over the week made me scatterbrained, particularly since this was the first week of classes.  My apologies.  I enjoyed reading it and I’m totally going to see what happens in the sequel.

Leave a Reply

