The Next Big Thing (7)

The Next Big Thing is a segment of my creation in which I show a new trend I see in YA lit.  I am by no means an expert, just a girl with a little too much time on her hands and a love of all things YA.

The Next Big Thing: Music and Dance

There have always been books about music, and this may just be me, but I think there are more coming out now than there have been.  I’m a fan of books about music and dance because of my years in choir and show choir.  I love reliving those moments.  I also just love that it’s a combination of my two greatest passions: music and books.

There are a few titles that have been out for a while.  Sarah Dessen has written two about music.  There’s This Lullaby and Just Listen, both of which I thoroughly enjoyed.  Also check out Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway.  I haven’t read this one yet, but I hear good things about it.  Recently, I’ve read Rival by Sarah Bennett Wealer, which is also a good read.

Coming soon, there will be Take A Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg, who is a fabulous writer.  I’m looking forward to this.  There’s also Audition by Stasia Ward Kehoe (which is about dancing) and Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez.

There are plenty more out there than these titles, but these were the ones I enjoy/hope to read.  Hope you found something to read!

Leave a Reply

