The Dark Divine (The Dark Divine, #1)

First Lines: “Grace!  You have got to see the new guy.”  April bounded up to me in the junior hallway.  Sometimes she reminded me of the cocker spaniel I used to own–she trembled in excitement over just about anything.

I’ve always been intrigued by this story, but I just didn’t get around to reading it…or really even thinking about it…until I saw it on the shelf at the library.  And then I was like, “AH!  I have to get this!”

Anyway.  Grace Divine has never stepped a toe out of line.  She can’t, as the pastor’s daughter.  Everyone looks to her to set the example.  And that’s fine with her, until her old friend Daniel reappears at school.  He’s darker and way more dangerous than he ever way before.  Jude, Grace’s older brother, tells her to stay away from Daniel.  But Grace is drawn to Daniel in ways she shouldn’t be.  What happened the night he disappeared?  And why did that coincide with the night Jude came home covered in his own blood?

I really liked it.  There was a complete mystery behind what was going to happen.  The book jacket gave me virtually nothing to go on, so I, obviously, wanted to know more.  The main characters were all so diverse and awesome.  Grace is one of those girls who appears demure on the outside, but she’s strong as steel inside when she has to be.  That was really great to see.

It wasn’t perfect.  There were things about it that I didn’t like so much.  Clues were dropped into Grace’s lap and she didn’t see them.  That kind of obtuseness has me yelling at the characters…and getting strange looks from the people around me.

I’m not about to spoil the surprise.  It’s good.  Obvious, after the first couple chapters, but good.

Leave a Reply

