Arthur (2011)

No Work.  All Play.

I haven’t entirely decided what I’m going to rate this yet.  I’ve been jonesing to see this since I saw the trailer for the first time, but I wasn’t sure if I’d like it enough to pay to see it in theatres.  I’ve never seen a movie with Russell Brand in a large role.  He’s usually pretty…um, out there.

This is the story of Arthur Bach, spoiled billionaire who has little regard for anyone or anything as long as he’s enjoying himself.  When his mother tires of his routine, she forces him into an engagement with the powerfully driven Susan Johnson, who will be the next CEO of the family company once she marries Arthur.  But Arthur meets the charming Naomi on accident and finds that for the first time, someone understands him and enjoys his antics.  Arthur is stuck between choosing a loveless marriage where he keeps his inheritance or choosing love but losing the only lifestyle he’s ever known.

I actually quite liked it.  I didn’t think about this until I sat down to type up this review, but it’s quite a bit like Billy Madison.  Spoiled billionaire man-children who, for reasons related to money and a family company, are forced to grow up.  Usually, that gets under my nerves (even though I actually quite like Billy, I can’t watch it often).  Arthur, though, never got annoying.

First off, I loved the humor.  It’s a very dry humor, very sarcastic.  That’s my brand of funny.  Oh, hey, that’s a pun!  My “Brand”…as in Russell Brand?  Never mind.  Dork moment.

It was actually also a lot more serious than I thought it would be.  That added a sense of compassion, at least for me, so I liked Arthur more.

Very well written, very fun characters, very fun 2 hours.  I suppose this means I’ve made my decision on what to rate it.

Oh, by the way, it’s rated PG-13, so I don’t have my rated R banner across the top.  However, I personally think it’s borderline R.  Proceed with caution.

Leave a Reply

