Supernaturally (Paranormalcy, #2)

First Lines: Oh, bleep.  I was going to die.  I was going to die a horrible, gruesome, painful death.

I will start off by saying that Evie is probably in my top ten favorite heroines because of her take-no-prisoners attitude with a side of sass when it comes to taking out anyone who needs to be taught a lesson.  I love it.  So I’m slightly biased.

*Potential Series Spoilers, if you haven’t read the first book*

Life for Evie has been normal lately.  And for Evie, normal isn’t as awesome as she thought it would be.  She’s bored with school, with having nothing to do after school except work at the diner, do homework, and wait for the weekend when she’ll get to see Lend.  When Evie is offered a job at IPCA again (completely confidentially), she nearly jumps at the chance to make a difference again.  But her new partner, Jack, isn’t ideal.  He’s hyper, annoying, and completely incompetent.  He’s also her only option of traveling from place to place unless she wants to align herself with the faeries again.  Which she doesn’t want to do.  When supernaturals start attacking Evie at an alarming rate, she realizes someone is trying to have her killed.  But who?

I thought it was really good.  It’s a bit darker than the last one, but that’s to be expected.  Evie is still sarcastic, still as sharp as a whip.  That’s really all that matters.

The story itself is a bit harder to follow this time as well.  I’ve seen reviews where people just didn’t like it because it was so complicated.  I didn’t think it was too bad.  Yes, there were a few plot lines that were surprising or appear to be superfluous at this point, but they’ll probably come into play a lot more later in the series.

I was glad to see more of my favorite characters and meet some new ones.  There were few new ones, admittedly, but still.  I just like seeing them.

Leave a Reply

