Starcrossed (Starcrossed, #1)

First Lines: “But if you bought me a car now, it would be yours when I go away to school in two years.  Still practically new,” Helen said optimistically.  Unfortunately, her father was no sucker.

Initially, what drew me to this was the Greek mythology.  Admittedly, I know very little about Helen of Troy, the legend upon which this story relies heavily.  I’m more into the Greek gods and goddesses.  Plus, I’m just a sucker for star-crossed lovers.

Helen has lived a normal life.  She has her friends, and her enemies.  Life in Nantucket was just…life.  Until the Delos family arrives.  The instant Helen see Lucas Delos, she feels a murderous rage, unlike anything she can explain.  Suddenly, life just got a whole lot more complicated.  Why did the Delos family come to Nantucket?  Why do they keep looking at Helen like she’s an enemy, but also one of them?  And why is she always so angry when she sees them?

When I started reading, I thought, “Oh great.  Another Twilight.”  The first couple of chapters where nearly exactly like that from Twilight, if the Cullens had come to Bella instead of the other way around.  But after it took off, boy did it fly!  I was so drawn in by the mythology and the mystery and the characters themselves.  Particularly Helen, Lucas, Claire, and Jason.

I thought the story was incredibly unique and fun to read.  Claire’s snark definitely lightened many scenes and I’m excited to see her in the following book(s).

The final gripe I have is that all that uniqueness fell apart in about the last 100 pages.  A plot line from another very popular YA series was incorporated and I didn’t like it.  (I didn’t like it in the original story either.)  Of course, I will keep reading this series, but I’m just a little disappointed that the ending wasn’t more its own.  Great.  Now I sound like Simon Cowell.

Leave a Reply

