Possess

First Lines: Bridget stared at the clock on the wall and cursed its painfully slow progression toward three fifteen.  Was the big hand even moving?  She slipped her cell phone out of her backpack for cross-reference.  Damn.  Seven more minutes.  It was so like a Catholic school to make Latin the last class of the day.  Institutionalized Purgatory.

This was one book I picked up at the library, but I didn’t want to read it right away.  I wanted to read the other, more hyped-up books I had.  This got pushed off until it was the last one.  And I almost wish I’d read it first.

Bridget Liu’s life hasn’t been the same since the day nine months ago when her father was murdered.  But it’s even more bizarre now, since she started exorcising demons with the local priest.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, her mom has started flirting with local men again and the son of one of these men has a crush on Bridget.  She so does not want to get involved with that.  When demonic activity picks up to dangerous levels, the Vatican sends in reinforcements in the form of another priest.  But who is responsible for all this demonic activity?  And can Bridget stop them before they hurt someone?

I thought it was really good.  It wasn’t your average demon story, at least in my opinion.  Half the demon stories out there are like girl-meets-demon, demon-is-good, girl-and-demon-fall-in-love.  Blech.  This was refreshingly normal in that these demons were BAD.  There’s one plot line that wasn’t really resolved that talked about good demons…?  I’m not sure.  I guess there’s a possible sequel for 2013.

Anyway, I thought it was a fairly complex story.  There was a good mystery, good suspense, and characters I adored.  I will say that the ending came quite suddenly.  It was like plot lines appeared out of nowhere and things the characters shouldn’t have known, they did.  The intro to the ending was just a little weird, I guess is what I’m trying to say.  The actual climax was pretty awesome.  I enjoyed it.

Honestly, I think it’s a pretty cool read.  Bridget’s very snarky, sassy.  It made interactions with other characters quite fun to read.  I think I giggled a few times.

Leave a Reply

