Spotlight Friday (13)

I’m sorry I didn’t get around to getting a Next Big Thing out this week.  I hope someday to catch up, maybe over next weekend when I’ll have a lot of free time.  But until then, I’m just a college student trying to keep up with classes, friends, and family.  Bear with me.

Drink Deep (Chicagoland Vampires, #5) by Chloe Neill

Release Date: November 1, 2011

**Hey, it’s the 5th book in the series.  Use common sense when figuring out whether or not to read the summary**

Summary (from Goodreads): Clouds are brewing over Cadogan House, and recently turned vampire Merit can’t tell if this is the darkness before the dawn or the calm before the storm. With the city itself in turmoil over paranormals and the state threatening to pass a paranormal registration act, times haven’t been this precarious for vampires since they came out of the closet. If only they could lay low for a bit, and let the mortals calm down. 

That’s when the waters of Lake Michigan suddenly turn pitch black-and things really start getting ugly. 

Chicago’s mayor insists it’s nothing to worry about, but Merit knows only the darkest magic could have woven a spell powerful enough to change the very fabric of nature. She’ll have to turn to friends old and new to find out who’s behind this, and stop them before it’s too late for vampires and humans alike.

What’s To Like: If you’ve read the first four, you know exactly what’s to like.  The end of the 4th book left us when an ending that I was so not happy to have, so I’m very very interested to see what happens in this one.  I have a theory, but I can’t test it yet to see whether or not I’m right.  Less than a month!  Squee!

My review of Drink Deep.

Last Breath (Morganville Vampires, #11) by Rachel Caine

Release Date: November 1, 2011

Summary (from Goodreads): With her boss preoccupied researching the Founder Houses in Morganville, student Claire Danvers is left to her own devices when she learns that three vampires have vanished without a trace. She soon discovers that the last person seen with one of the missing vampires is someone new to town—a mysterious individual named Magnus. After an uneasy encounter with Morganville’s latest resident, Claire is certain Magnus isn’t merely human. But is he a vampire—or something else entirely?

What’s To Like: I love everyone in the Glass House, particularly Claire and Shane.  Claire’s like Morganville’s Superman, always swooping in to save the day with her awesome skills.  I love it.  I’m intrigued here, because we don’t know who or what this new stranger is.  Should be interesting to say the least.

My review of Last Breath.

Destined by Jessie Harrell

Release Date: November 17, 2011

Summary (from Goodreads): When Psyche receives a prophecy gone horribly wrong, she learns that even the most beautiful girl in Greece can have a hideous future. Her fate? Fall in love with the one creature even the gods fear. 

As she feels herself slipping closer into the arms of the prophecy, Psyche must choose between the terrifyingly tender touch she feels almost powerless to resist and the one constant she’s come to expect out of life: you cannot escape what is destined. 

Destined is a fresh and heartachingly romantic retelling of the Cupid & Psyche myth from debut novelist, Jessie Harrell.

What’s To Like: Everything!  It’s a handful of everything awesome.  Greek mythology, prophecies/fate/destiny, a love story.  I’m a goner.  I’ll probably swoon big time over this.  I’m also excited that this is a Greek retelling that doesn’t revolve around Hades and Persephone.  Not that there’s anything wrong with them, but there are way too many books about them coming out.  Psyche…I like this.

My review of Destined.

Leave a Reply

