Angelfire (Angelfire, #1)

First Lines: I stared out the classroom window and longed for freedom, wanting to be anywhere in the world other than gaping up at my economics teacher like the rest of my classmates.  The last time I had listened to him, Mr. Meyer had been lecturing about fiscal policy, and that was when he’d lost me.

This has been sitting on my shelf unread since I bought it in February.  I have now determined that that was a crime.  This book was fantastic and I’m angry that I didn’t read it over the summer or, better yet, right after I bought it.

First came the nightmares that kept Ellie up at night.  They were horrible–full of dark creatures trying to kill her.  Then came Will, the gorgeous guy who evokes the strangest feelings in Ellie.  It’s almost as if she knows him, has known him for centuries.  When Will awakes Ellie’s powers on her 17th birthday, Ellie finds herself trapped inside a fate she can’t escape.  It’s her job to hunt the very things that haunted her nightmares.  But along the way, Ellie will have to learn more about her past…and Will’s.  Will she be prepared for what she finds?

Compared to the rest of the story, the beginning starts a little slow.  But it totally picks up and I found myself glued to the book for hours at a time (not exactly a good thing when you’re a college student in the middle of midterm week).

When I read books about angels, I fear they will come off preachy.  This wasn’t at all.  I liked Ellie’s stance on religion and that Will and others never seemed pushy about it.

I adored the characters.  Will has rocketed himself onto my list of amazing, gorgeous, hunkalicious guys.  I swooned big time.  And Ellie, she just kicked butt.  I loved that she wasn’t afraid to fight when the moment came.  It was so great.

The action was amazing.  The fight scenes were incredibly detailed and I could see what was happening, just like I was watching an action movie.  Everything was just so vivid, like I was there.  I loved being able to feel what Ellie felt.  That’s the best part of reading.

Lastly, I’d like to say that the lore is pretty incredible as well.  There was a very original take on angels and demons that completely pulled me in.  I have a feeling I’m going to reread this before the sequel comes out in February.  *Swoon* Will…

Leave a Reply

