Something Borrowed

It’s a thin line between love and friendship.

The first thing that caught my attention when it comes to this movie is John Krasinski (Jim from The Office).  I’m in love with him, I really am.  Then, when I saw the previews, I was even more interested.

Rachel (Ginnifer Goodwin) made a mistake 6 years ago.  Instead of telling her crush, Dex (Colin Egglesfield) how she felt about him, she let her best friend Darcy (Kate Hudson) convince him to take her on a date.  Now Rachel’s in a wildly uncomfortable position: be the maid of honor to her best friend, who is marrying the guy she loves.  With the help of Ethan (Krasinski), Rachel has to decide which is more important: the love she feels for her best friend or the man she loves?

I haven’t read the book, so I can’t compare it to that like I normally would.  Instead, this is purely a review on the movie alone.

I thought it was very cute and very moving.  I saw so much of myself in Rachel, which helped me come to terms with a few things.  Rachel is really just every girl who turned down a guy and wondered, “What if?”  Except Rachel’s situation may be more extreme than most of us will have to endure.

Darcy is so hard to like, which is, I think, the point.  She’s loud, obnoxious, and selfish.  Everything she does seems to undermine Rachel or push her in a way that Rachel doesn’t want to go.  Sometimes Dex was hard to like too, which is weird when he’s the one you want to feel sympathy toward.  And Ethan…sweet Ethan…what can I say?  No matter what role John Krasinski plays, I’m in love.

Some things were a little outrageous, but everything seemed to work out alright.  The dialogue was pretty funny and I kept finding myself drawn into the story when my attention started to wander.  It was just a cute, completely girly movie.  Definitely a chick flick, though guys may like characters like Marcus, Dex’s good friend.

Leave a Reply

