Working Stiff (Revivalist, #1)

First Lines: Bryn’s first embalming instructor had told her, straight up, that two kinds of people entered the death business: freaks and true believers.

I swear, when it comes to writing, Rachel Caine is a genius.  I’ve been hooked since Morganville and it doesn’t look like my excitement is going to wear off any time soon.  She’s just creates awesome stories that suck me in.

Bryn Davis know working at Fairview Mortuary isn’t the most glamorous career choice, but at least it offers stable employment–until she discovers her bosses using a drug that resurrects the clientele…as part of an extortion racket.  Now Bryn faces being terminated (literally) with extreme prejudice.  With the assistance of corporate double agent Patrick McCallister, Bryn has a chance to take down the bigger problem–pharmaceutical company Pharmadene, which treats death as the ultimate corporate loyalty program.  She’d better do it fast before she becomes a zombie slave–a real working stiff.  She’d be better off dead…

Because I lack creativity this early in the morning, I just copied the summary off the back of the book.  For one thing, it covers the bases without spoiling anything, which is what I fear I would do if I wrote my own.  So deal with it.

Now, I’m not usually the biggest fan of zombies, usually because they’re really gross.  But this was more of a sci-fi about zombies instead of a zombie apocalypse story.  Pharmadene’s drugs resurrect the dead and create the zombie-esque people.

I was so surprised when it came to this story.  There were so many twists and turns right from the beginning that I was like, “How can the end of the story top what just happened?”  But trust me, it did.

The characters were really great.  Bryn’s a strong girl with enough fight in her to rival Rose Hathaway from Vampire Academy at times.  And that says something.  She’s focused on anything she does.  And McCallister…man.  It took me a while to like him, but once he proved to me and Bryn that he was worth our trust, I was more than fine with him.  He’s one of those guys you want on your side, no matter what.

I powered through this book simply because I’m going back to school and I wanted to accomplish something while I was home on break.  This seemed perfect for me.  Great read.  I’m glad I got me some Rachel Caine before I left.

 

Leave a Reply

