Texas Gothic

First Lines: The goat was in the tree again.  I hadn’t even known goats could climb trees.  I had been livestock-sitting for three days before I’d figured out how the darned things kept getting out of their pen.

Since Halloween is only 6 days away, I decided it was time to read something scary and freaky.  Given the cover, I figured I should put my bets on this one for that.  And while I didn’t think it was really scary or freaky, it was highly entertaining and a fabulous ghost mystery.

Amy Goodnight has always tried to balance “normal” with her family of witches.  It hasn’t been easy, especially when she has to keep her family from talking about their abilities.  Now, Amy and her sister Phin are house-sitting for their aunt in Texas.  It should have been normal and uneventful, but it’s been anything but.  There’s someone in the house with them…and he isn’t alive.  He’s a powerful ghost with more power than the Goodnights combined, which is disconcerting to say the least.  Who is he?  What does he want?  And can Amy and Phin figure out what’s going on without getting into trouble, especially with Ben McCulloch, their disbelieving neighbor?

I love a good, sarcastic lead and Amy was that.  She tried to balance the normal world with the world her family created and when it didn’t work, she fired off some really awesome retorts.  It was great fun, especially to see what kind of situations Amy got herself into.  Which were silly and frequent.

The other characters were zany and awesome in their own ways.  Phin didn’t understand sarcasm, Ben was trying to be steadfastly normal, and Mark was adorable in his own way.  It was always sweet to see the different styles of characters in the story.

I just love Ms. Clement-Moore’s style of writing.  It’s so entertaining and she comes up with some of the funniest analogies, metaphors, and sayings that I’ve ever read.  I love seeing a new phrase or description of a scene that makes me giggle.  There were quite a few of them.

I’m so looking forward to whatever else Ms. Clement-Moore can through my way next.  I love the infusion of magic in her stories.  Magic is amazing, so it’s no wondering I’m drawn to it all the time.

Leave a Reply

