Psych, Seasons 1-4

Fake psychic.  Real detectives.

If you’ve been hanging around this blog long enough, you know I’m in love with Netflix instant streaming.  I watch movies and tv shows there all the time.  Well, about two years ago, one of my friends told me about Psych.  At first, I wasn’t interested, but once I watched it, I fell head over heels for it.

The premise sounds silly and, honestly, it is.  Shawn Spencer grew up having his father, a cop, teach him how to be extremely observant.  Now, in his late 20s, Shawn pretends to be a psychic to help the Santa Barbara Police solve mysteries that are otherwise “unsolvable”.  His best friend, Burton “Gus” Guster, helps Shawn sound reasonable and solve the mysteries.

I love this show.  The jokes and the drama mixed together are just fantastic.  I can’t believe there aren’t more shows on TV that really mix the two the way Psych does.  On Netflix, it’s officially called a “dramedy”, which is a mix of comedy and drama.  That’s accurate.  It’s sort of like what CSI would be like if they were funny and didn’t focus on the forensics as much.

Now, Shawn and Gus wouldn’t be anywhere if it weren’t for the help of Juliet O’Hara and Carlton Lassiter, officers on the SBPD.  I love the interactions with Shawn and Gus because, while Juliet is a little more open to the idea that Shawn is psychic, Lassiter thinks it’s a complete ruse (and he’d be right, but he doesn’t know that).  It’s just so funny, because Shawn has pet names for both of them, none of Lassie’s being flattering.

Over the four seasons that I’ve watched so far, there have been some dumber episodes.  But overall, they’re usually highly entertaining and sometimes wildly suspenseful.  I find myself yelling things at my computer or verbalizing my sympathies for characters.  Also, since this “business” of Shawn’s operates outside the SBPD, he gets to help some nuts too crazy to be taken seriously by the cops.  Those are probably some of the more entertaining episodes because you don’t know what’s going to happen next.

I highly recommend this show, especially if you love comedies and crime shows like CSI or NCIS or whatever other show is out there like that.  This show gives you a healthy dose of both.  I can literally watch 5 episodes in a row and not get tired of it.

I feel like I should include a list of my favorite episodes.  So here we go:

1.6 “Weekend Warriors”

2.9 “Bounty Hunters!”

2.12 “The Old and the Restless”

3.8 “Gus Walks Into A Bank…”

3.15 “Tuesday the 17th”

3.16 “An Evening With Mr. Yang”  (There’s no way I’m leaving this off the list.  Best.  Episode.  EVER.)

4.9 “Shawn Takes A Shot In The Dark”

4.16 “Mr. Yin Presents…”

That’s another thing I didn’t mention.  The titles of these episodes are hysterical!  These don’t highlight it as well as episodes like “The Devil is in the Details and the Upstairs Bedroom”, “Murder?…Anyone?…Anyone?…Bueller?”, “Talk Derby to Me”, “Meat is Murder, But Murder is Also Murder”, “Gus’s Dad May Have Killed An Old Guy”, “Shawn (and Gus) Of The Dead”, and “He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not, He Loves Me, Oops He’s Dead!” do.  I giggle a lot when I see these titles.  The one that got me giggling the most was “Poker?  I Barely Know Her!”  But I have a juvenile sense of humor, I hear.

Anyway, I highly recommend Psych.  It’s definitely in the top 5 of my favorite TV shows.

Leave a Reply

