Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Audrey Hepburn plays that daring, darling Holly Golightly to a new high in entertainment delight!

I’ve been hearing about Breakfast at Tiffany’s for a long time.  It’s one of those movies it seems like everyone’s seen (but you know they really haven’t).  When I saw it was streaming instantly on Netflix, I had to give it a go.

Paul Varjak is a struggling writer trying to make it in New York.  When he moves into his new apartment, he meets Holly Golightly, his downstairs neighbor.  Holly’s lifestyle intrigues Paul, the way she parties and carries on in public, but is sweet when they’re alone.  It isn’t until Paul meets a stranger who tells him about Holly’s past that he begins to see that Holly isn’t quite what she seem to be…

I liked Paul from the get-go.  He’s just had that boy-next-door sort of quality to him.  He was a sweetheart to Holly.  Oh sure, he had his flaws, but I saw how much he wanted to make Holly happy.

Holly, on the other hand, took a long time to like.  I nearly stopped watching after the first half hour because I just couldn’t like her.  But I stuck with it and the more I got to know about her, the more I started to like her.  Did I ever fall for her the same way I did Paul?  No.  Not even close.  But I understood her, which is the best I can do.

I don’t see why people have fawned over it the way they have.  Yes, it was good, but it wasn’t good enough to merit the cult status it’s got.  Oh well.  Everyone has their own taste, I guess.

Leave a Reply

