Chicago

It began with a hit…

One of my good friends is always going around singing “All That Jazz” from this movie, and I’ve been wanting to watch it for that reason.  Musicals always catch my interest, so I was willing to give it a shot.  And really, the only reason I actually picked it was because it was going to disappear from Netflix in a week.

Roxie Hart (Zellweger) has been trying to make it big.  A man told her he had connections, but that turned out to be a lie.  So Roxie shoots him and finds herself in prison with other women who have killed someone.  Roxie’s idol, Velma Kelly (Zeta-Jones) is also there for killing her sister and husband.  But when Velma and Roxie start vying for the legal representation and attentions of Billy Flynn, Roxie and Vel become bitter enemies.  Who’s going to win? And will they both make it out of prison alive?

I didn’t like the movie right away.  It took a while for me to sink into the storyline.  Roxie was hard to like, considering she was sleeping around behind her husband’s back.  (Her husband is played by John C. Reilly, who is one of those guys I just always have sympathy for.)  It was very risque in the beginning and I just was not expecting it.  Perhaps I should have, since they’re wearing short dresses right there on the poster…

Anyway.  The music was pretty good.  A couple of songs were hard to understand, in my opinion.  One had a bit sung by a woman in a different language.  I was clueless enough as it was at the time.  Though I suspect if I watched it again, I would be just fine.

The story was actually really interesting once you figure out who is who and what their motive is.  I mean, Roxie is one motivated girl.  She was bound and determined to get exactly what she wanted that she didn’t care who she hurt along the way.  It was actually fascinating to watch her completely destroy everything around her.  And Billy Flynn…that boy was of the same moral character as Roxie.  The psychology that goes into that…

Leave a Reply

