Breaking Dawn Part 1

Forever is only the beginning.

So, I just got back from watching Breaking Dawn with my mom.  She was actually the one really pushing to see it, which I thought was funny since I had to force her to read them before the first movie came out.

I’m really not going to take the time to talk about the plot of this book because, frankly, I think most everyone knows it even if you haven’t read the book.  And if you don’t know, either read the book, ask a friend, or Google it.

Yes, I have read all the books and yes, I have seen all the movies (in the first week they’re released, to boot).  However, it’s sort of been falling out of my favor as of late.  Not really sure why, but keep this in mind.  It plays into my opinion of the movie.

I liked how elegant and pretty the wedding scenes were.  It was absolutely gorgeous.  And Kristen’s much talked about dress?  I just thought it was ok.  The style isn’t one I’m fond of.  The reception was nice as well.  It’s always fun to see Charlie because he’s so much like my own dad that I have to laugh and cry when Bella does.

I’ve heard people were upset by the cheesy special effects and I just want to say, from my perspective, I thought they were pretty good.  The only time I had a “This is too cheesy” moment was when we heard the wolves talk amongst themselves.  It was almost cartoonish there.  Other than that, everything looked pretty amazing.

If you have a weak stomach, you may want to be careful when it comes to this movie.  They didn’t shy away from gory moments at all.  There’s vomit, lots of blood, and a birth scene.  I’m saying this in a friendly way because I know when it comes to large amounts of blood, I get really grossed out.  I thought it was terribly gory, but my mom thought it would be way worse than that.  Frankly, I don’t want to know what that scene would have looked like if she directed it.

I guess I’m not used to Twilight vampires anymore.  I’ve read so many vampire books since then that they just don’t seem normal anymore.  It takes me a while to get adjusted to the eyes and the  way they can forgo hunting for weeks at a time and the animal blood.  Trust me, I remember all this from the books, but it doesn’t fit my inner model of a vampire anymore.

When it comes to the acting, I always think Taylor Lautner is the best actor.  He’s the most expressive, which isn’t hard when he’s always compared to the stoic Robert Pattinson and the sometimes overly dramatic Kristen Stewart.  I find they get on my nerves a little after a while.  Jacob, however, I could watch all day.  Those abs…ahem.  Excuse me.

I know most of you won’t be swayed by my opinion.  If someone told me the last Harry Potter movie would be absolutely terrible, I wouldn’t have listened.  So take from this what you will.  I just offer what I saw.

Leave a Reply

