Drink Deep (Chicagoland Vampires, #5)

First Lines: The wind was cool, the fall night crisp.  A waxing moon hung lazily in the sky, so low it seemed close enough to touch.  Or maybe it just seemed that way because I was perched nine stories in the air, atop a narrow metal grate that crowned Chicago’s Harold Washington LIbrary.

Holy.  Smokes.  Unbelievable.  This series just gets more and more intense with every book!  I was shaking as I got close to the end it was so good.  Is it bad if I already want to go back and reread parts of it?

*If you have not read book 4, please DO NOT read past this point.  Seriously.**

Life hasn’t been easy in Cadogan House since Ethan died.  Malik is the new Master, but he can’t really rule his House when the GP sends a man there to ‘clean up their act’.  That’s not Merit’s only problem, though.  Lake Michigan turns black suddenly and that’s when things get ugly.  The new mayor wants vampire heads on a stake and someone is most definitely brewing trouble in Chicago.  Unfortunately, Merit is really the only person who has the power to find the troublemaker and bring them to justice…but the GP agent is holding her on a tight lease.  Can Merit find out who is responsible before the city falls to chaos?

These books get me so riled up when I read them.  I don’t like politics, but these are just incredible.  So intricate and despicable.  And so fun to read and want to crush some heads.  But that’s my inner Merit talking.

Time to be cryptic.  There was something that happened in the last book and I had a theory about how it could be undone in this one and, while I was wrong about how it would happen, I was right in that it did happen.  I do not want to spoil it, so I will leave it at that.

What else can I say about this one that I haven’t said before?  There is such an amazing lore involving the supernaturals that really shines in this one.  We get to meet some really great new characters, that I’m going to assume come into play again down the road.  Maybe not in the next one, though, given what I’ve read in the summary.

Good times, good times.  I really enjoy this series and I’m so glad my mom bought me the first one for my birthday years ago and got me hooked.

Leave a Reply

