Dark Passage (Dark Mirror, #2)

First Lines: Traveling through time was not for the faint of heart.  Lady Victoria Mansfield wiped damp palms on her skirt as she contemplated being torn into screaming pieces, dragged through a magic mirror, and dropped one hundred thirty-seven years in the past, exhausted and ravenous.

You give me a historical fiction, romance, and magic, and you get one very happy girl.  This had just about everything I want in a book in it.  The characters are amazing and there’s always action to propel the story forward.  Plus, the emotions in this one are just stronger.  It’s awesome.

*Potential Series Spoilers.  Keep that in mind.*

Tori has no desire to ever go through the mirror again.  She’s saved the future once and that’s just fine with her.  When Nick Rainford comes back and begs for their help, Tori knows she may not have much of a choice anymore.  Nick needs them to help him rescue an influential doctor from a Nazi prison.  The fate of the world could rest on this mission.  But deciding whether or not to go isn’t her only problem.  Her relationship with Allarde is also in trouble.  If she stays with him, he loses his his chance to inherit his family’s property.  Can she stand between the land he’s so connected to?

This is only the second book in this series and already the plot line is a bit trite.  From here on out, you just know that every book is going to involve them going through the mirror and saving the world.  I’m hoping I’m wrong, and I may be, judging by the first chapter of the next book.  (It was printed in the back of this book.)  But it definitely feels like this could get old much too quickly if M.J. isn’t careful.

The characters were amazing.  Their emotions were so real.  I kept getting chills as I read, especially when there was a cute scene between characters.  I kid you not, I’ve reread the end scenes three times now because it’s adorable.  I never would have thought I’d say this after the first book, but I really like Cynthia now.  We’re able to get into her head a little more now and that was very helpful.

The action was better than I thought it would be.  I thought it was going to be pretty much just like the last one, but it was different enough that it stood alone.  That was nice.  It wasn’t formulaic so much.

Very good.  I am looking forward to the next book for sure.

Leave a Reply

