Beautiful Chaos (Caster Chronicles, #3)

First Lines: In Gatlin, it’s funny how the good things are all tied up with the bad.  Sometimes it’s hard to tell which is which.  But either way, you end up taking your sugar with your salt and your kicks with your kisses, as Amma would say.

It was funny, when I went to start reading this one, I couldn’t remember what happened in the last two.  Well, I could remember how the 1st book ended, but not the second.  I own both of them.  Before I even started, I had to Wikipedia how the others had ended so I would be up to speed.  It’s sad, really.

*Yo, potential series spoilers ahead*

Nothing has been the same in Gatlin since Lena claimed herself.  The average citizen would tell you it looked like the Apocalypse was on its way.  It’s too hot, the lakes are drying up, and there’s an infestation of lubbers.  Ethan’s being haunted by dreams again that have no explanation and leave him waking in a panic.  To make things worse, Ethan’s starting to forget things, like phone numbers and names that he knew he’d always remember.  What’s happening to him?  And can Ethan and Lena stop things in Gatlin from getting any worse?

Like I said, I forgot how the other two ended.  I knew I liked them, though.  Anyway, I pretty much came into this not remembering much besides the obvious and the characters.  I don’t tend to forget main characters that quickly.  Plots, yes.  Characters, no.

I did like it, but it started out sort of slow.  It took quite some time to even get to a point where it was really interesting.  Which isn’t really a good thing, when the book is over 500 pages long.  But it’s not bad.  Just a little slow.

The ending completely floored me.  I mean, I didn’t want to pick myself up off the floor when I finished it.  It was very intense.  And that’s all I’m saying.

There were some interesting turns the story took.  I’d be very interested in seeing it told from the perspective of as many as 3 other characters.  2 in particular, who played a small-ish role in this one but played bigger ones in the previous book(s).  Sorry for being cryptic, but spoilers are a no-no.

One last thing I can say, I guess, is that the story does get more intricate.  There are more subplots that emerge, so we get to understand a few characters better than we have been able to in previous books.  Ethan and Lena’s visions are a bit silly in how they come about, but they do provide a whole lot of insight into the past.

Leave a Reply

