Say Anything

She’s got everything going for her.  He’s going for her with everything he’s got.

I watched this for the first time last night.  I really didn’t know much about it, besides what I read in the summary.  I really just wanted to see it to figure out what was so cool about the boombox scene and understand the references to it in other movies, such as Easy A.

Lloyd doesn’t know what he wants to do with his life or where he’s going.  Diane’s had everything planned most of her life and knows exactly what she’s going to do.  All Lloyd knows is that he wants to be with Diane and he’s going to chase after her with everything he’s got.

It wasn’t a bad movie, but it was good for reasons I didn’t know it would be.  I knew it was going to be a romance, but I didn’t know there was more to the story.  Diane has to deal with some very real family issues that can tear her family to pieces.  That made her and the story more complex, seeing how it all worked out.

Right away, I related to Diane.  I ended high school much the same way she did and at times, I felt the same, like no one really got to know me in school.  So I liked her right from the get-go.  Lloyd was sweet, but he’s definitely not like most of our romantic leads nowadays.  Lloyd was a huge softie when it came to Diane, which is different than it is with current romantic leads.  I wish I could spit this out better.  He just came off as a bit of a pansy at times when Diane was involved.

And after seeing this, what exactly was the point of the boombox scene?  It was anticlimactic from what I was thinking it was.  I thought it was pretty much going to mirror Easy A, but it wasn’t like that at all.  Maybe I just don’t get it, in an age where boomboxes really don’t exist anymore.  It was cute, don’t get me wrong,but I just don’t see what he big deal is.

Regardless, Lloyd has made my list of Guys I Will Now Compare All Other Guys To.  It’s an impressive list, but one I feel guys do no appreciate.  Wonder why.

Oh, one last thing.  I loved that Joan Cusack played Lloyd’s older sister, considering she’s really John Cusack’s older sister.  That was just some fun irony I latched onto right at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

