The Pledge (The Pledge, #1)

First Lines: I gritted my teeth as Mr. Grayson’s voice grew louder and louder, until there was no mistaking that he meant for the people in the congested street to hear him, despite the fact that he knew full well they couldn’t understand a single word he spoke.

Have you ever read a summary for a book and knew it sounded good, something you’d like, but you just couldn’t find the motivation to actually start it and get into it?  Well, that’s what happened with this one and me.  I knew I’d probably like it, but I’m very leery of dystopias now that they seem to be ruling the market.  It’s like with vamps in the hype of Twilight.  About one book in every 3 or 4 was utter crap.

Charlaina Hart has never been a normal girl.  She’s always been able to understand every language she hears, which is far from normal and, if anyone finds out, can get her killed.  And mostly, it’s pretty easy for Charlie to pretend she can’t understand what the upperclass citizens are saying.  But when she needs to shake off the pressure of hiding her secret, she heads to underground clubs with her friend Brook.  It’s there that she meets Max, who is unlike any boy she’s ever met.  She’s attracted to him, but once he speaks a language she’s never heard, she knows she’s in danger.  When drills in the city become real emergencies, Charlie has to become something she never thought she would be: the city’s only hope of surviving.

I absolutely adored this book, once I got into it.  I hate trying to read a book over more than a week, so I kicked my butt into overtime to get reading and then I just couldn’t stop.  It was so good.  There were intricacies and secrets that completely came back and turned into something you never expected.  I loved how the overall story was fairly simple, yet the secrets and twists turned it into something profoundly awesome.

The characters were all great.  You may not have liked them all, but they were well developed and unique.  Ok, maybe unique isn’t the right word, but they were strictly themselves.  They didn’t really change personalities halfway through the book and become something different.  You follow me?

Charlie was great, a great heroine.  All she wants to do in the beginning is spend time with her friends and help her family, particularly her little sister.  That, by the way, was also something I liked about the story.  Angelina, the little sis.  Not many stories have a little sister or brother that plays such a prominent role anymore, which is weird that practically all of our heroes are only children.  But I digress.

There was more to it than just a dystopia, like I felt like it was in the beginning.  The story kicked off in a very weird way, but one that fit the story.  It was a bit like jumping into the water without having first gotten used to it.  I had no idea what was going on, not until later.

I knew I should have trusted Kimberly Derting to write an amazing story.  She hasn’t let me down yet.

Leave a Reply

