Crescendo (Hush, Hush, #2)

First Lines: The fingers of the thorn-apple tree clawed at the windowpane behind Harrison Grey, and he dog-eared his page, no longer able to read through the racket.

This has literally been sitting on my shelf for over a year.  I got it as a gift Christmas 2010.  I tried to read it in March, but I didn’t like the first couple of pages of the prologue, so I didn’t keep reading.  I already knew it was going to fall victim to the Sequel Slump (where the couple just, omg, like, can’t be togethurrr). I decided that it was time to read it and move on.

*Potential series spoilers ahead.  Proceed with caution.*

Nora’s life has been anything but simple recently.  Between her budding romance with Patch, her guardian angel, and the attempt on her life not long ago, Nora’s been busy.  After Nora and Patch get in an argument, Patch begins hanging out with Nora’s arch-rival, Marcie Millar.  Nora can’t understand why and her sense of betrayal grows.  In retaliation, he begins hanging out with Scott Parnell, a childhood friend who just moves back to town.  Everything about him screams “danger” and it’s the perfect way to get back at Patch.  If that wasn’t enough, Nora seems to be haunted by images of her father and she’s determined to find his killer.  But how long before the killer starts looking for her?

I really liked Hush, Hush.  This wasn’t quite as good, but it was still pretty good.  The characters all came back in true form, one of my favorites being the hilarious Vee.  More over, the characters have a little bit of growing up to do.

One thing I didn’t like was the huge amount of plot twists going on.  There were almost too many for Ms. Fitzpatrick to handle.  In fact, a few seemed to be dropped about halfway through the book.  I’d be willing to bet they almost never come back in the series.  So why were they added in the first place?

This wasn’t about angels as much as the last one was and that was a bit disappointing.  I really like angel lore.  But since Patch wasn’t really as huge a character as he could have been, our true link to angels was cut out.  It was just what Nora already knew.

That all said, it did have me staying up later than I wanted to be up trying to finish it. It was quite gripping at the end.

Leave a Reply

