27 Dresses

She’s about to find the perfect fit.

I love this movie.  I mean, what’s not to love?  Anyway, I just watched this with a friend last night and thought, “Huh.  I haven’t reviewed this yet.”  So here you go!

Jane is always a bridesmaid and never a bride.  She’s been a bridesmaid 27 times (hence, the 27 dresses).  After a disastrous juggling act of trying to be a bridesmaid in two different weddings on the same night, Jane meets Kevin, a cynical writer who doesn’t believe in marriage.  He’s cute, but Jane is in love with George, her boss…who has no idea of her feelings.  Jane, being a people-pleaser, doesn’t say anything.  When Jane’s sister Tess returns to New York, Tess falls in love with George.  How long can Jane hold her emotions back and when is it time to start taking care of herself instead of others?

I find this movie to be so cute.  Ok, I find James Marsden to be so cute.  I think the concept for the story is cute, but Marsden makes it for me.  I swoon every time he smiles.  I mean, hello.  Just look at that.  That is sexy.  I want one.  A James Marsden.

Anyway, more on point.  I really like the soundtrack to this movie.  I don’t know any of the songs, but the words just match perfectly with what Jane’s thinking.  The music is used perfectly.

And yeah, ok, maybe parts of the plot are a little silly.  I mean, who would spend that much money on bridesmaids dresses?  I’d be done after 2 or 3, I suspect.  So, yes, parts of it are silly.  But some of the silliness is magical.  Benny and the Jets.  I haven’t been able to disconnect that song with this movie.  And I don’t care how silly it is, I like the story line.

The characters are great.  Jane can get on your nerves a little because you just want her to tell people exactly what she thinks of them, but she doesn’t.  Kevin is such a sweetheart, even if he does make a mistake or two along the way.  Even Tess and George have their moments of sweetness that I like.  Most of the time, though, I have to question whether or not I like them.  But my favorite character is Casey, Jane’s best friend.  She’s so funny and snarky all the time.  It’s great.

Leave a Reply

