Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices, #2)

First Lines: The fog was thick, muffling sound and sight.  Where it parted, Will Herondale could see the street rising ahead of him, slick and wet and black with rain, and he could hear the voices of the dead.

I admit, when I started the Mortal Instruments series (the series that was written before this one, but this is set before that series), I never thought it would lead to this.  I actually think I like this series more than MI because of the setting.  But we’ll get to that.

*Dude, series spoilers are probably in the cards for this review.  Just saying.  But no spoilers from this book.*

Things haven’t been easy for the Shadowhunters in the past few months, but Tessa has turned the Institute into her home.  That could all change in a blink.  The Clave thinks Charlotte may not be a capable leader and if she gets sacked, Tessa will end up on the streets.  If that wasn’t enough, the Magister sends a warning to Will, showing that he knows their every move.  But how?  Is there a traitor among them?  Tessa feels her heart break for Will, but at the same time, she’s drawn to Jem more than ever.  Will’s walls are crumbling around him.  Can the Shadowhunters and Tessa get the answers they need and stop the Magister before he causes more trouble?

I loved it.  I knew it was going to be a fast read, even with my homework load, but geez.  It just flew under my fingers.  I really love the gang in this one.  Tessa, who can be so girly one minute and a vicious fighter the next.  Jem, the sweetheart with a heart of gold and a deadly addiction.  And Will, the sarcastic warrior with a dark secret of his own.

I admit, from day 1, I’ve been Team Jem.  It’s no secret.  I think he’s just an absolute sweetheart.  So I was obviously fond of any page or chapter where he made an appearance, especially a sweet or sarcastic one.

I think I like this one even more than the first one.  This one was more intricate than the first was.  Or at least it’s more intricate than I remember the last one being.  We got to see glimpses of more than a handful of different perspectives to reveal clues.  Some parts were so sad and others made me smile at their humor and others had me squealing with happiness.  I’m not kidding about that last one.  I was literally sitting in my chair, *squee*ing, and kicking my legs excitedly.  Thank God no one else was in the room to see that.

So there you have it.  Definitely worth it.  Though I was interested to note it wasn’t nearly as sarcastic and funny as her other books have been.

Leave a Reply

