Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)

First Line: Walking to school over the snow-muffled cobbles, Karou had no sinister premonitions about the day.  It seemed like just another Monday, innocent but for its essential Mondayness, not to mention its Januaryness.

I’ve heard so much about this book that it’s ridiculous.  Everyone seems to be talking about it.  And since this is me, I had to see if it was worth the hype.

Karou is not your normal teenager.  She’s an art student studying in Prague and fills sketch pads upon sketch pads with pictures of monsters that may or may not be real.  Around the world, black handprints are appearing, marking doorways.  Along with them come the rumor of angels.  Karou is thrust into a world full of action and mystery.  Who is she?  Why are the angels here?  And what do they want with her?

I knew I was going to like Karou by the time I finished the second chapter.  She just had something distinctive about her.  I mean, just look at the first lines!  It’s not exactly snarky, but it’s close.  I just loved her perspective right away.

And then I got into the story.  It wasn’t bad, but it was way different than I was expecting.  It dipped into stuff that I normally don’t touch with a twelve foot pole, so I instantly started wondering if I was going to make it through the book.  Akiva saved it for me.  Once he came on the scene, I hung around.

Really, once you get used to the oddities, it’s not bad at all.  It’s very action packed and is always moving.  That made it really hard to put down sometimes.

It was chugging along really quickly until about the last quarter of the book.  Then, it was like hitting a brick wall.  The action just stopped.  The information given is extremely important to the story, but the telling part just kinda sucked in that I went from flying through pages to forcing myself to keep reading.  I wish that would have been more entertaining.

Overall, it was a good book.  It’s interesting and different.  I’m definitely keeping an eye on the sequel.

Leave a Reply

