Destined

First Lines: My stomach churned as the smell of ground charcoal and nearly-rancid oil smeared across my eyelids.  Whoever decided that greasy anything should be part of a daily beauty routine deserved permanent exile.

Greek mythology is seriously one of my guilty pleasures when it comes to books.  If there’s even a hint of Greek mythology in it, my ears have perked up like a dog’s do when someone says, “Bacon!”  It’s an addiction, it really is.

This is the story of Eros and Psyche.  Psyche is the most beautiful girl in the land, with her whole glamorous future ahead of her.  When Aphrodite sets Psyche up with Eros, the couple rebels against the idea.  It’s never a good idea to anger the gods, as Psyche quickly learns.  The most beautiful girl in Greece can have a very ugly future.  A prophecy foretells of a monster that will possess her.  Psyche has to ask, Is there a way to escape what is destined?

I completely fell in love with the book.  I kid you not, I was so taken with it I was reading in bed.  That doesn’t sound like a big deal, but I NEVER do that because I won’t be able to sleep afterward.  (And as it happened, I slept horribly that night.)

Every chapter gave me goosebumps.  I didn’t even know that was possible.  I was so taken with the characters and the plot, even though I knew how it was going to end because I knew the myth.  There was so much emotion in the details.

For the most part, it sticks pretty religiously to what is known about the myth.  I did notice one non-crucial change, but the characters even made a joke about why it was omitted, so I felt better about it, in a weird way.

The only thing I had a problem with the entire book was that some of the gods and goddesses were given their Roman names instead of their Greek names.  Like Demeter was called Ceres.  And since it has been my mission to call out the Romans on their theft of mythology, I had an issue with this.

Other than that, it was simply brilliant.

Leave a Reply

