The Fault in Our Stars

First Lines: Late in the winter of my seventeenth year, my mother decided I was depressed, presumably because I rarely left the house, spent quite a lot of time in bed, read the same book over and over, ate infrequently, and devoted quite a bit of my abundant free time to thinking about death.

Oh John Green, is there anything negative anyone can ever say about your work?  It’s simply incredible, each and every time.

Hazel has battled cancer for the last three years and it doesn’t seem to be going away.  Hazel is just living life one cancer filled day at a time.  But when she meets Augustus Waters, her definition of “life” changes as he shows her what she’s been missing.

I actually won this in a giveaway about 1.5 months ago.  I was quite excited about that, seeing as I didn’t own any of Green’s books before this one.

I quite liked it.  Green always tackles those subjects that are dark and deep, but he lightens them with humorous observations and witty characters.  Hazel and Augustus both had dark senses of humor that always made me smile.  I just love sarcastic, snarky comments.  Oh, and Hazel’s observations about Indiana, particularly the weather.  They’re all true.

That was something else I liked.  The setting.  Not even that it was set in Indiana, my home state that receives far too little acknowledgement in the media, but other settings as well.  I can’t spoil anything, so I’m leaving it at that.  Trust me, the less you know about what happens in this book, the better.

I don’t know much about cancer, medicine, or hospitals because frankly, they all scare the devil out of me.  (Ok, not medicine so much as the other two.)  So there was some jargon sometimes that I totally didn’t understand.  It was clearly something that cancer patients would know and understand, but I didn’t.  I wish there had been some small explanation about what certain things were and/or what they did.  I realize that the story is told from Hazel’s POV and she understood what they were, so she probably left out details because she didn’t need them.  That’s probably all there is to that.

Even though I’m going to give it 5 roses, I didn’t feel like I enjoyed it as much as I could have.  I’d had at least 4 people tell me how spectacular it was, which usually means that my expectations are too high and it fails to meet them.  I wish people would just be like, “Oh, I liked that one, but I’ll let you form your own opinions because books mean something different to everyone.”  Instead, they say, “OMG, that book is amazing!  I loved it so much!  I cried/laughed/had nightmares because of part X.”

Mini rant.  My apologies.

Leave a Reply

