Everneath (Everneath, #1)

First Lines: I was picturing his face–a boy with floppy brown hair and brown eyes–when the Feed ended.

I can’t turn down a book based on Greek mythology, especially when it’s based on my favorite myth.  I just can’t do it.  It’s a terrible weakness.  That’s what lead me to this, a spinoff off of Hades and Persephone.

Six months ago, Nikki Beckett vanished into the Underworld known as Everneath.  Now she’s come back home–to her old life, her family, and her boyfriend Jack.  But in six more months, she’ll return to Everneath, this time for good.  Nikki tries to spend these six months forgetting about her time in hell, but that becomes impossible when Cole, the immortal who took her to Everneath, has followed her back.  Cole is determined that Nikki be his queen.  Nikki’s faced with the toughest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and stay with Jack or return to Everneath with Cole.

I was a bit disappointed it wasn’t the Hades and Persephone myth I was hoping for.  There are definitely some parallels, but it’s not the retelling I was hoping for.  It was more loosely based.  Even Meg Cabot’s Abandoned was more like Hades and Persephone than this was.

On the whole, it was pretty good, but it wasn’t anything that overly impressed me.  I wasn’t sympathetic toward Nikki.  There was something about her that was off-putting at times.  I can’t even quite decide how that happened.  It was probably just a gradual thing, but I just didn’t care much for her.  I didn’t really care much for any of the characters except Jack and sometimes Cole.

The ending is predictable.  There was a clue given about 30-40 pages from the end and I went, “Well, there’s the ending right there.”  On top of that, the ending was just…trite, I guess.  It’s not the first time I’ve seen an ending like this in a book and I’m positive it won’t be the last.  I do give it a small thumbs up for throwing a twist into it, but it wasn’t enough.

What was ironic about the whole thing was that the clues used in this to help Nikki were EXACTLY the same clues as the ones used in Darker Still.  I couldn’t believe it.  How often do you read two books back to back and find that they have the same clues?  And they probably didn’t copy off of each other because they were published only a few months apart.  It was just weird how that worked out.

So, to recount, I wasn’t overly impressed with the book.  It was good, but not amazing.

Leave a Reply

