Silence (Hush, Hush, #3)

First Lines: The sleek black Audi rolled to a stop in the parking lot overlooking the cemetery, but none of the three men inside had any intention of paying respects to the dead.  The hour burned past midnight, and the grounds were officially closed.

A friend loaned me this book two weeks and I’ve finally gotten around to reading (and finishing!) it.  Otherwise, it would not have been next on my to-read list.

*Hey, 3rd in the series.  Series Spoilers are to come.*

It’s been nearly three months since Nora was kidnapped…and she doesn’t remember any of it.  In fact, she doesn’t remember the last five months.  She knows that those closest to her are hiding things from her, but she doesn’t know what.  She wants–needs–answers, and she’s determined to get them.  Why does she get random flashes of memories that make no sense whatsoever?  Is she hallucinating?  Then Nora meets a dark, dangerous stranger that makes her feel things she knows she shouldn’t but feels so right.  Who is this guy?  And why is she drawn to him?

So, right off the bat, I was really iffy on the whole “Nora loses her memory of everything that happened since this series began” thing.  It’s old, it’s cliche, and it’s meant to be suspenseful, but it’s usually just frustrating.  I believe I rolled my eyes when I read the jacket.

In this end…ok, I can admit, it mostly worked.  Some things weren’t that good.  It was cute watching Nora fall in love again, but it was frustrating when she would start trusting someone I knew had hurt her in the past books.  It was a bit like yelling at a girl in a horror movie, if you know what I mean.  Yeah, for me, the best part was falling in love again.

If we factor out the memory loss stuff, it was pretty good.  The action was more intense, not fight-wise, but because every action had more of a consequence than ever before.  That is always interesting.

The male lead character was fascinating, as always.  It was cool to see him through Nora’s eyes when she didn’t remember him.  I don’t know why I’m hiding his identity from you, because you already know who he is.  And if you don’t…sucks to be you!  I’m kidding.

I thought it was an interesting read and a good addition to the series, but I wasn’t jumping with excitement to read it, nor am I jumping to get the next one when it comes out in October.

Leave a Reply

