The Shawshank Redemption

Fear can hold you prisoner.  Hope can set you free.

Before a week ago, I had barely ever heard of this movie.  I mean, it had been on my instant Netflix list once, but I had never gotten around to it and I certainly didn’t know what it was about.  Then one of my friends loaned it to me saying, “You’re going to love this.”  …I hate when people say that.

Andy Dufresne was a young, successful banker in the 1940s before his life took a dramatic turn for the worst.  Now he’s in prison serving life terms for the murder of his wife and her lover.  Andy is unlike any prisoner Red has ever seen before.  He’s…different.  He carries himself differently and he has a different attitude than the other inmates.  This is their story.

It wasn’t until this movie was actually playing that I saw it was based on a Stephen King story.  My initial reaction?  “Ah great.  Here come nightmares.”  Thankfully, this was different from most of King’s work.  By that, I mean nothing creepy or paranormal.  Hallelujah.

I really fell in love with this movie.  Andy has this unassuming nature about him that just makes people flock to him.  He’s trustworthy and honorable, in a place where most aren’t.  He’s one of those characters you don’t realize you care for until he’s weaseled his way deep into your heart.

Red is probably one of Morgan Freeman’s greatest characters.  He takes an almost fatherly role in Andy’s life, especially early on.  After that, it becomes a friendship.  But you can tell the two really care about each other.  I loved Red’s nature as this wise, sneaky prisoner.  He generally had a good heart, even if it didn’t always show through.

I must say, I had no idea what was coming, through the whole story.  It was told in a delightful way where you think you know what’s happening, but you don’t.  Not really.  And it’s a good thing I watched it by myself because I spent a lot of time yelling at the TV.

One thought on “The Shawshank Redemption

  1. It really is a wonderful film. Probably one of my favorites of both Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman. They both play their parts quite well and the story is so unlike any Stephen King. I refuse to watch any King film, and it wasn’t till years after seeing the film, that I found out he had written the short story.

Leave a Reply

