Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #1)

First Lines: Our mother was a witch, too, but she hid it better.  I miss her.

This has been sitting on my desk for weeks because I just haven’t had time to get around to reading it.  Such is the life of a college student nearing finals week.  Projects out the ying-yang.  Anyway, I finally finished it.  Yay me.

Cate Cahill and her sisters are witches in 1896 Maine.  The town is run by a religious group of men call the Brotherhood, who have expressly forbidden magic.  If the Cahill girls are found out, they’ll disappear.  Cate, as the oldest, has the responsibility of keeping her sisters from being reckless.  The girls lost their mother three years earlier before she could really teach them about their magic.  Cate feels the stress not only of this, but of her responsibility to also figure out what she’s going to do with her life.  She only has a few weeks to decide whether she’s going to marry someone or join the Sisterhood.  With her mother’s secrets suddenly coming to light and the Brotherhood watching her every move, can Cate keep it all together?

I really liked the story.  Cate was someone I could completely relate to because I’m also the oldest sibling and I know what it’s like to have the responsibility of the younger ones heaped onto your shoulders.  Sometimes you really think it’s going to break you.  So I liked that the relationship between Cate and her sisters was realistic and relatable.

I was a big fan of the fact that this mixed historical fiction with the supernatural.  This is probably my favorite genre of books.  This mix instantly brings with it the political nature involved not only with the supernatural and who’s on top there, but the politics of the time and setting.  1896 isn’t exactly known for its gender equality, so that brings Cate a number of problems.

There’s actually a little bit of a love triangle in this story and it was done in a way that I really enjoyed.  Some love triangles *cough* Cassandra Clare *cough* just frustrate the heck out of you. This didn’t.  You knew fairly quickly which one Cate wanted and why.  It was only the guy she didn’t choose that didn’t know she didn’t return his feelings.  So it wasn’t your stereotypical love triangle where the girl can’t figure out which of the two guys she wants because gosh, she loves them both so much!  Those drive me crazy.

It was a lot of fun to read.  So many different types of characters, so many secrets, so many ways to be awesome.  I’m very much looking forward to the sequel.  It’s going to be intense.

One thought on “Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #1)

  1. I was wondering if I should read this book and I think I might give it a try. I thought it might be similar to the Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray which I love but you have to have a bit of time on your hands because it does go by really slow.

    Thanks for the review!
    -Whit

Leave a Reply

