Dead Is The New Black (Dead Is, #1)

First Lines: Being dead became fashionable approximately forty-five minutes after Samantha “the Divine” Devereaux came back from summer break.

I have a couple of friends that have talked about this series before, so I decided I’d take a look at it, see what all the fuss was about.

Daisy Giordano comes from a family of psychics.  Unfortunately for Daisy, she didn’t inherit the family powers.  She’s a normal girl trying to make it through high school in a city filled with secrets.  Teenage girls are being attacked in the city and Daisy is determined to get to the bottom of it.  When she finds out it may be the work of a vampire, she immediately suspects Samantha, who has made dead cool in school.  Is Samantha involved or is it even worse than that?  To find out Daisy does the unthinkable: she joins the cheerleading squad.

I really didn’t like the first half of the book.  It was choppy and the pacing was rushed.  It was almost like an information dump, only more sophisticated.  That doesn’t change the fact that it was still an information dump.  Everything was outlined quickly: who Daisy was friends with, who were the social climbers, who was popular, and who were Daisy’s enemies.  High school, in my experience, wasn’t that clearly defined.  It was, but then you had those fringe friends and those kids you really wanted to hate, but you still had to be polite to and so forth.  High school wasn’t clear cut.

I also didn’t like Daisy in the first half.  She leveled out in the second half, but she had this super-innocent thing going on.  She was more naive than any 16 year old I’ve met and that sort of bothered me too.  It felt unrealistic.

The second half of the story I enjoyed.  It was intriguing and mysterious.  Maybe a little too contrived at times, but still interesting.  Still, that couldn’t make up for how I almost stopped reading due to the first half.  I just don’t see what all the fuss is about.  Though I will say I liked that jukebox a lot.  Where can I get one like that?

One thought on “Dead Is The New Black (Dead Is, #1)

Leave a Reply

