Never To Sleep (Soul Screamers, #5.5)

First Lines: “I know she’s your best friend and all, Sophie, but Laura Bell has got to go,” Peyton whispered, shoving both gym doors open at once so she could walk through the center of the double doorway for a grand exit.

I think I squealed when I saw this on Rachel Vincent’s Goodreads page.  I can always use a  shot of Soul Screamers between books.  It is from Sophie’s POV, which I wasn’t so keen on, but I wasn’t going to pass it up.

*WARNING: POTENTIAL SERIES SPOILERS*

Sophie’s crazy cousin Kaylee is not about to ruin things for her.  Sophie has fought tooth and nail for the great reputation she has and she worked hard for her position on the social ladder.  When Sophie sees something terrifying, she lets out a blood curdling scream…and ends up somewhere else.  Does this place really exist?…Or does insanity run in the family?

I’ve never really liked Sophie for the way she treats Kaylee.  Sophie always seemed more interested in social climbing than anything else.  So this was kind of a good way to glimpse what really goes on in Sophie’s mind.

And from what I read…Before I Wake is going to be an awesome book.  Did Sophie inherit the same powers Kaylee did?  Is she going to hide what she knows from them?  And who is this mysterious Luca she meets?  (Apparently, he’s going to feature big time in the next time.  Or maybe I’m reading too much into a little blurb I read at the end of this.)

I’m really interested now in the next book.  Not that I wasn’t before (SO MUCH EXCITEMENT!), but this just solidifies it and adds a new level of intrigue to it all.  Just 2 more months before the next book comes out!

Leave a Reply

