Knowing

Knowing is Everything…

I am so behind on my movie reviews, which is bad since I watch movies all the time.  Oh well.  What makes it here makes it here, I guess.

Now, I know some people are already looking at this like, “Really?  You watched a Nicolas Cage movie, especially this one?”  Yeah, I did.  It’s probably been on my Netflix list since it came on video 3 years ago and well, no one moved anything better up to the top of the list before this shipped.  So I felt I had to watch it.

In 1959, an elementary school decides to make a time capsule for their grand opening.  The children draw what they think the future will look like in 50 years.  However, one odd child, Lucinda, hears voices and writes down a series of numbers for her part of the time capsule.  When the time capsule is opened in 2009, Caleb Koestler gets Lucinda’s piece.  Caleb gives the writings to his father, John, who realizes these numbers are dates that correspond with tragic events and many lost lives…and three events have yet to happen.  He investigates Lucinda and her family, hoping for more information.  When Caleb starts hearing voices and seeing things, John knows he has to give everything he has to solving this.  What is happening?

I’m not really into sci-fi stuff, so this wasn’t exactly something I would go jumping up and down over anyway.  I didn’t even know it was a sci-fi until I was watching it.  I mean sure, the numbers thing, I suppose that’s sci-fi, but I saw it more as an apocalyptic movie, which I usually don’t count as sci-fi for some reason.

I know Nicolas Cage gets a lot of flack for being a bad actor, but the truth is I kind of like him.  At least in National Treasure, I did.  This was alright for him too.  It wasn’t the greatest, I didn’t get the total sense that he was as heartbroken a widower as he was supposed to be.  I did get the sense that he would do anything for Caleb, which I suppose is the whole point.  So his acting was good where it counted.

The story line is a little…odd.  Convoluted.  There’s just so much going on.  I think maybe 45 minutes tops were devoted to developing the characters and understanding Lucinda’s warnings. The rest was action, like a plane crash and John’s attempts to find out what was going on.  The last hour took place in a single night.

I liked the movie alright right up until the last twenty or thirty minutes.  Part of the problem was the characters started acting rashly because they were panicking, but it just seemed…fake, I guess.  I don’t know.  Then the ending just came out of nowhere like, “Really?  That’s how you’re going to wrap this up?”  I was confused and it was all so sudden.  Like, BAM!  Here’s your ending!  Thanks, have a nice day!

So all in all, it wasn’t as awful as I think most people make it out to be just because Cage stars in it.  It’s not.  But the ending can definitely throw you for a loop.

Leave a Reply

