Kate & Leopold

If they lived in the same century they’d be perfect for each other.

I have been meaning to watch this for I don’t know how long.  It’s perfectly up my alley, but I didn’t watch it when I could have instantly on Netflix.  So the other night I found it on TV and decided I had to watch it while I had the chance.

Leopold is the duke who has made nothing of his life thus far, according to his uncle.  Leopold is an inventor and has no intention of marrying anyone.  Unfortunately, the family money has run out and he is forced to find a rich bride.  But on the night he is to pick her, Leopold spots a strange man in his home and follows him…from 1876 to 2001.

Kate lives in New York and works in an advertising company.  Her ex-boyfriend, Stuart, lives just above her.  Now, Stuart’s brought a man home with him who thinks he’s from the 1800s.  He’s cute, but nuts.  But the more time they spend together, the more Kate starts to see that maybe her life hasn’t been all it could be…

I thought it was cute in premise.  I always think it’s funny to see characters from different times be displaced in ours.  Like really, how do they cope with things like the internet?  That would have been completely impossible and unthinkable when they were alive.  Or, as Leopold struggles with, what about a toaster?

There were a whole host of characters that were charming.  Kate’s brother Charlie is high on that list.  He’s a little manic, but he’s still this caring if awkward man.  Stuart also has his moments of pure sincerity that I totally fell for.  But most of all, Leo totally stole the show.  He made me melt into this little cooing puddle in front of the TV.  Even when he was trying to acclimate to 2001 or angry at something, you could tell there was more than one emotion going there.  He was dimensional.  He was chivalric and charming and caring and funny.  Where can I find one?

I wasn’t as impressed with Kate.  That’s unfortunate considering I really like Meg Ryan, but it seems her earlier stuff is just better than the later movies.  I just didn’t feel a whole lot of sympathy for Kate.  I did feel sympathy for the other characters who cared about her.  So in that way, I came to care about her because of how she impacted the other characters.  But that’s it.  I didn’t see why Leo fell for a girl like her.

Funny, I never thought I’d want to hang a picture of Hugh Jackman on my wall, but I totally do now.  Just not in his Wolverine getup.  Gotta be this duke outfit.  #hot

Leave a Reply

