Wherever You Go

First Lines: You’ve been by her side for six months, but she hasn’t noticed you.  Still, you slip into her mother’s sixth-floor apartment and keep her company while she eats her kid sister’s sugary cereal in the dark kitchen.

As it happens, I gave up on Bright Young Things.  I just couldn’t get into it, nor did I really care to.  So since I dropped that, I picked this up.  I really need to be getting through more books than I have been recently.  There’s a whole slew of new ones out this summer that I need to get through.

Holly lost her boyfriend Rob six months ago in a terrible car accident.  It’s been really hard on her.  Rob knows this, since he’s been haunting her these last few months, watching over her.  It kills him (no pun intended) to watch her struggle through every day.  Then one of Rob’s best friends, Jason, begins taking an interest in Holly and her well-being.  When things start to heat up between Holly and Jason, Rob is forced to make some tough realizations about his death and what happens next.  To help him is an old man nearing the end of his life…and he happens to be Holly’s grandfather.

Heather Davis is sort of a hit and miss author for me, so I was a little leery going in.  However, I knew I had to give this a chance since it was a ghost story and the main character and I share the same first name.  That really doesn’t happen very often.

It was better than I thought it would be, but it wasn’t this fantabulous read either.  I liked that it felt very real.  Holly had a younger sister that she was forced to watch while her mother worked 2 jobs to keep the bills paid.  Then, Holly’s grandfather comes to live with them because he developed Alzheimer’s and can’t care for himself anymore.  She has to juggle all of these things, her boyfriend’s death that she gets blamed for, and school.  Jason has his own family struggles to deal with as well.  And Rob, he has to come to terms with some very real concepts about death that teens tend to overlook or not think about at all.  So developing those topics was something that I enjoyed.  I like character growth.

What I wasn’t so crazy about was the writing style.  There are 3 rotating perspectives to the story.  Rob, Holly, and Jason.  And the one I used in the first lines belongs to Rob.  As you can tell, it’s written in 2nd person, which is really bizarre to read.  I freaked when I thought the whole book was going to be written that way.  It’s unusual to the point where I don’t even usually want to deal with it.  Jason’s voice was in 3rd person and Holly’s was 1st, so those were more normalized and I didn’t even realize they were different “persons” until another reviewer commented on it.

And I know I just said that I liked the realness of the story, but there was almost too much going on in all of the characters’ lives.  You get done dealing with one person’s issues and you’re immediately thrown into someone else’s.  It nearly got old.  It would have, if it had been any longer of a story.

I did like it.  It’s one of those where you can find some really good advice about learning to love again and coming to terms with the death of a loved one.

Leave a Reply

