Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters, #1)

First Lines: Birthdays aren’t my thing.  It’s hard to get too excited about the day that marks the anniversary of your mother’s death.

An angel series!  And it’s Australian, too!  Well, it’s written by an Australian.  I actually forgot it was Australian as I was reading, which probably means US editors changed things for us Americans.  Anyway.  That was a totally pointless intro on my part.

Violet wants nothing more on most days than to talk to her best girl friend Steph and spend as much time as she can with her best guy friend (and the incredibly hot) Lincoln.  It gets harder, though, when her love for Lincoln goes unrequited.  But things are about to get weird anyway, when after Vi turns 17, she starts having weird dreams that leave very real evidence behind and noticing things happening to her.  What’s happening to her?  Can she stop it?  …Does she even want to?

This just flew under my fingers as I read.  I’d read about three chapters and tell myself, “Ok, it’s time to go do something else,” and end up reading three more before I could actually stop.  I read the whole book in a day.  It’s been quite some time since I’ve been able to pull that off, I think, and not have it feel like I read it all in a day.  Of course, it kind of helps that I had nothing else pressing to attend to.

I was very thrilled to find there was not an information dump when Violet finds out what’s going  on.  To an extent, there was one, but it was nowhere near as bad as some I’ve read.  This has just enough to give you a taste of things, an understanding, but still left you with questions.  Which is exactly what it should do.

I really enjoyed the characters as well.  Steph is an uber girly-girl and Lincoln is such a sweetheart.  But I most related to Violet, who tends to be a bit of a control freak, especially when things relate directly to her.  That’s exactly who I am and this seems to be one of the few characters I’ve read who are actually more or less commended for being control freaks instead of looked down upon.  She was very realistic.

If there’s one thing in this story I could have done without, it was the love triangle.  I’m not going to tell you who’s involved because it’s more than obvious once you start reading.  But the triangle felt forced, almost rushed as well.  The more evident the triangle became, the more I wanted to put it down.  Not like, “I’m going to quit reading this,” but more like I was actually able to put it down and do something else for a while.

Overall, it’s a fast read, a full-of-action read, and an intriguing story.

One thought on “Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters, #1)

  1. I have seen this book a lot on Goodreads but not a lot of reviews in the blogging world so I was really excited when I saw your review :). It sounds like a new exciting series, I am going to add it to my TBR list FOR SURE! Awesome review, thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

