Spotlight Friday (43)

It’s Friday!  Do a little party dance!  I made it to the library today, so I have a whole huge stack of new books to get through and review for you guys AND I’ve been hit up by two (yes, TWO) authors to read and review their new books.  I’m going to be a busy girl for the next few weeks, but it’ll be lots of fun!  On to the new lovelies!

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Release Date: June 14, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase’s family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A dreamy summer read, full of characters who stay with you long after the story is over.

What’s To Like: Maybe it’s just because I recently watched that History channel series on the Hatfields and McCoys, but I really see similarities between the two.  It doesn’t seem like these two families are feuding, but it does seem like there’s something beneath the surface we don’t know yet.  And I’m really curious to know what she needs saving from.

My review of My Life Next Door

Blood Moon (The Drake Chronicles, #5) by Alyxandra Harvey

Release Date: June 19, 2012

*Warning: Potential Series Spoilers*

Summary (from Goodreads)When the vampire tribes convene for the rare Blood Moon ceremonies, Solange’s fight with her feral nature, a mysterious stranger, family secrets and forbidden magic put all of the Drakes in danger.

The POVs are: Solange, Lucy and Nicholas.

What’s To Like: Since this is one of my favorite series, I think there’s quite a lot to like.  But for this particular book, I’m looking to know what happened after that crazy of a cliffhanger at the end of the last one.  I’m also excited because this will be the first book where we get to see inside Nicholas’s head.  And I’m really going to love being back in Lucy’s.  She’s so funny.

My review of Blood Moon.

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2) by Richelle Mead

Release Date: June 12, 2012

Summary (from Goodreads)Tough, brainy alchemist Sydney Sage and doe-eyed Moroi princess Jill Dragomir are in hiding at a human boarding school in the sunny, glamorous world of Palm Springs, California. The students–children of the wealthy and powerful–carry on with their lives in blissful ignorance, while Sydney, Jill, Eddie, and Adrian must do everything in their power to keep their secret safe. But with forbidden romances, unexpected spirit bonds, and the threat of Strigoi moving ever closer, hiding the truth is harder than anyone thought.

What’s To Like: Again, this is another one of my favorite series…well, this is the spinoff of my favorite series at least.  But I really like the way Sydney tells the story.  And Adrian…you can’t go wrong with that boy.  I love the world that Mead has created and I can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

My review of The Golden Lily.

Leave a Reply

