Getting Over Garrett Delaney

First Lines: You have to understand: I’ve been madly, hopelessly, tragically in love with Garrett Delaney for two years now–ever since the fateful day when I looked up from my list of the Top Ten Couples of All Time and saw him sauntering into the local coffeehouse.

Where was this book when I was in high school and spending my time mooning over my best friend?  Ugh.  This would have been so ungodly helpful.

Sadie loves Garrett, but Garrett doesn’t love Sadie as anything more than a best friend, no matter how much Sadie tries to get him to notice her in a more romantic way.  When Garrett heads off to a summer writing camp, Sadie thinks this is perfect.  Absence makes the heart grow fonder, after all!  But then Garrett calls and says he’s in love with another girl.  That’s it.  Sadie knows it’s time to get over Garrett once and for all.  With a little help from her coffeehouse friends (and the gorgeous cook, Josh), Sadie’s going to detox herself of Garrett.

I kid you not, once I get done with this review, I’m going to copy out the 12 step plan for getting over guys.  It’s so helpful.  I mean, it pretty much works as a break-up tool too.  Which is good, considering just 3 days ago my boyfriend broke up with me.  I’m stealing some of these tips, plain and simple.  Talk about good timing.

I thought the book was quite charming and witty while being helpful and heartfelt.  There were great bits of wisdom, but also there were fun moments with the characters.  Sadie’s coffeehouse friends are quite witty and just fun while being a great support system for her.

There were two things about the book I didn’t like or I thought needed improvement.  First of all, even though there were guys in the book, we never really got their opinion on unrequited love.  Everything was from the girls’ perspectives, and about 6 of them at that.  I really would have liked to see a guy pipe up and say something, especially since real guys I know constantly complain about unrequited love.  They, however, refer to it as the “friend zone” and they, ironically, don’t seem to think this happens to girls.

Secondly, the book seemed a bit sexist to me.  Archaic in its thinking.  All of the girls struggled with the idea of how much of their life they should built around their boyfriends.  That was the phrasing.  “Build her life.”  I get the point behind it, but did it really have to sound so dependent upon guys?  I found it to be slightly offensive, but that could have been my mindset given that, as I said, my boyfriend had just dumped me.  Long story.  Don’t ask.  Still, I didn’t appreciate the implication that women needed to be the ones to conform to men.

Still a good read.  Especially if you have been in this position or are now.

Leave a Reply

