Underworld (Abandon Trilogy, #2)

First Lines: “Pierce keeps having the most terrible nightmares.”  My mom used to say this to all the doctors we saw right after the accident.

I really don’t know what to say here.  I usually have some kind of anecdote or little thing to say before I start the review, but today…nothing.  Well, nothing I haven’t said before.  I could tell you how much I like the myth of Persephone and Hades, but I’ve said that about six times on this blog, so I won’t say it again…except I just did.

*Warning: Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Pierce is back in the Underworld, but this time she’s very much alive.  To keep her safe from danger, John Hayden (her boyfriend and, as it happens, lord of the dead) brought her Under.  It’s nowhere close to ideal for Pierce, but she’ll do what she has to to stay with John and stay safe.  Then Pierce finds out those she loves are in danger because she left.  Can she save them before it’s too late…or is the cost of leaving the Underworld too high?

I like that this story always seems well told.  There’s suspense and romance while balancing danger and intrigue.  Though I’m still having somewhat of a hard time seeing this as a retelling of the P/H myth.  It just doesn’t feel quite like it.  I still like the story, don’t get me wrong, but did this have to be billed as a P/H retelling?

After I finished this, I realized there were a lot of things I wish had been done differently.  For example, there didn’t seem to really be any character development.  That bothered me, until I realized that the timeline for this story is two days at most.  That’s it.  300+ pages and it only covers two days.  It made the story feel a little rushed too, as a result of that.  If the timeline had been extended just a little, I think we could have improved the story.

Along with that, I felt there wasn’t enough development of other things.  I still can’t get a good picture in my head of what the Underworld looks like.  It doesn’t feel like the crucial part to the story that it really is.  It could just be how Pierce sees it is how we see it (likely), but I just wish there was more than how the curtains don’t look like curtains from her bedroom.

Also, the whole plot of this one seemed to revolve around misunderstandings.  There were about two misunderstandings too many for my liking.  After a while, even if you understood, wouldn’t you ask for clarification?  I mean, seriously.  There are like, four different times when Pierce finds out John meant something else or vice versa.  And since this only covers 2 days, don’t you think someone would have been like, “Ok, I’ve been wrong before.  Are you sure that you get that (X) is (Y)?”  So that bothered me.

Overall, though, it was still pretty good.  Toss in a little romance and some Furies and you’ve got yourself a story.

One thought on “Underworld (Abandon Trilogy, #2)

  1. 2 days = 300+ pages? That is the first time I’ve heard of something like that. Must admit it *IS* pretty intriguing. Also, like you, I do love Persephone and Hades, so I think I’ll give this book a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

