Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test, #2)

First Lines: When I was a kid, each fall my teachers had the class write and present one of those horrible “What I Did Last Summer” essays, complete with pictures and funny anecdotes designed to make a classroom full of bored students pay attention.

For some reason, in my head, I never really see this series in a favorable light.  Which is odd, considering I rated it highly here and on Goodreads.  I’m not really sure where this, “Oh, this series is ok” mentality came from.  Who knows.  All I know is that I’m about to tell you about this book and what I thought of it.  …That was an absolutely horrible segue.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Kate knew becoming immortal and the Queen of the Underworld was going to come with challenges.  But things she thought were going to be easy turn out to be the real challenges.  During the six months she’s been gone, Henry has become secretive, even distant from her.  Then, in the middle of her coronation, Henry is kidnapped by the one person who could actually kill him: the King of the Titans.  The others prepare for war, but Kate is more focused on getting Henry back.  But the Underworld is bigger and harder to navigate than she thought it would be.  In order to get Henry back, she needs the help of her greatest threat.  She needs Persephone.

I would have read this weeks ago if I’d known what was waiting inside.  I thought it was going to be another Sequel Slump, given that there is clearly a wedge driven between Henry and Kate from the summary alone.  I hate it when books try to drive the characters apart just to build suspense.  But this was different.  There were very good, very real reasons why they struggled to be together, more than just a dramatic device.

I was surprised with where the story went.  Everything that’s mentioned in the summary ends well before the end of the book.  I had about 60 pages to go and no idea what would happen.  It was definitely an odd, but not unpleasant feeling.

The writing is incredibly good.  I panicked when Kate did, feeling my own heart race in tandem with hers.  I felt her pain and I wanted nothing more than to keep reading to ease it.  I kid you not, I’ve reread one scene at least 4 times already because the writing is amazing.  There’s a lot more depth to the story than I originally wanted to give it credit for.

Admittedly, the characters get a bit repetitive with their advice to Kate.  She’s told the same thing by about three different characters and she never seems to use it.  But that was more of a minor problem more than anything.

Overall, the plot is good, the characters are even better, and the writing brings the story to life in a way few books can really manage.  I really did like the focus on their relationship problems because it was so unique to stories, yet it’s something many people actually struggle with.  I know I’m like Henry in this respect.  A bit cryptic, isn’t it?  I don’t want to spoil anything!

Leave a Reply

